A lesson in backseat driving…

There are two ways to exit the complex where we live in a cute little townhome. For the past week, every time I turned to exit one way, my two year old backseat driver says “No, mommy, I want to go THAT way” and points behind us in the opposite direction. It’s getting annoying. I just want to say, ‘Timothy, I know where we are going better than you do and I am going to get you there in the fastest possible way” – because usually we are going to the park or something that will be fun for him. And that got me thinking about a conversation I had with God recently. How I like to pretend I know the best possible thing for me and I try to tell God what should happen in my life. And he told me, “Allison: when have you put your life in my hands and I haven’t taken care of you?”  And I started thinking about every major decision I had let God help me decide: my major and choice of college, my job in youth ministry and moving to Colorado, my husband, my kids. And this whole time he HAS taken care of me! I’ve had an amazing life so far. But so many times, like Timothy, I try to tell him I want to go in the opposite direction. I need to remember that as my heavenly Father, he has my best interest in mind. So my goal this week is to let God drive and I will put my trust in Him.

 “Trust in the Lord and do good that you may dwell in the land and live secure. Find your delight in the Lord who will give you your heart’s desire.”  Psalm 37:3-4

One thought on “A lesson in backseat driving…

Leave a Reply

