6 Things I’ve learned in the past 48 hours

Who let me be a parent!? I literally have been thinking this multiple times a day lately. I feel like I have no idea what I’m doing. I just pray for the grace to keep my kids alive and hopefully they won’t need therapy when they are older.
Here are 6 things I have learned in the last 48 hours:

1. I am 90% more productive if I get dressed first thing in the morning. Not after breakfast, but right away.

2. Insurance sucks. But it pays to make phone calls. I have saved a few hundred dollars this week and it feels good.

3. Lily loves her jumparoo. She will literally jump for an hour straight. I can get stuff done, and it also wears her out so she will go to bed earlier than 10pm. (see below)

4. Whenever Timothy is quiet, he is stuffing his face with food he shouldn’t be – like chocolate or graham crackers or my coffee.

5. Do not wear white shorts to the park. Or to the pool. Probably never while you have young children.

6. I feel much better about myself and the world when I am clean. I need to shower often.
Yesterday was our 3 year anniversary. Nate worked for 10 hours then we picked up my car from the shop, had leftovers for dinner and were in bed by 9pm.  Good thing we went out last Saturday. Things change in 3 years!

Here is Lily.

Here is Lily.

Here is Lily jumping.
Here is Lily jumping.

Here is Lily passed out from jumping.

Here is Lily passed out from jumping.

I can’t believe she fell asleep like that. Anyway, I moved her to her crib and had time to write this post!

5 thoughts on “6 Things I’ve learned in the past 48 hours

  1. I guess love of jumperoos is genetic; if I remember correctly you loved the jumperoos too. However I’m not sure how I gave Timothy my you-know-I’m-doing-something-I-shouldn’t-because-I’m-quiet gene. (Remember the desitin story?)

  2. Hi Allison,
    I agree with getting more done when you’re dressed! I’m convinced there is a direct correlation between being dressed and being motivated! As for the jumparoo, Angela said it was one of Jack’s favorite things. this is mainly because even as a little guy he had to be in constant motion, even while being held. Otherwise, he’d cry! Once he became verbal, one of his favorite phrases was, and still is, “Uh oh!” He uses it whether he does something by accident or on purpose. He hasn’t caught on yet that the adults in his life can tell the difference!

  3. ” I just pray for the grace to keep my kids alive and hopefully they won’t need therapy when they are older.”

    I have the same exact thought *all the time*. Stop reading my mind already!! 😀

Leave a Reply

