Fruit flies…and sin

imagesA few weeks ago I brought fruit home from the store…and the fruit flies started to appear. I have spent countless hours trapping them with inverted cones, vacuuming them up with our dust buster, and killing them with my bare hands. We have had hundreds overtaking our house at one point. They’ve also taken over my sanity since all I do is think about fruit flies. I see them in my bedroom, I dream about them in my sleep. I stop what I’m doing to track one in the kitchen for a good 5 minutes until it’s dead.

Over the weekend I finally made the traps with banana bait and a paper cone. I easily caught over a dozen in each, but that wasn’t the last of them. Every day since then, I keep thinking that I’ve gotten them all and I let down my guard. Then I see one flying around and I kill it with my hands. Right after that, I see two more flying around the kitchen. Nate tells me they aren’t asexual but I swear they can replicate on their own. Timothy thinks it’s a fun game to run around the house hitting a wall saying, “die, fruit fly, die!”

Just when I think its safe and I put the fruit out again, several flies re-appear from hiding. When I’m not paying attention and I leave food out, there those flies are again. And that’s just like sin, and those fruit flies are seriously the devil. The wages of sin is death (Romans 6:23), and we must always be on guard against temptation to sin. 1 Peter 5:8 says, “Be sober and vigilant. Your opponent the devil is prowling around like a roaring lion [or sneaky fruit fly] looking for someone to devour.”

Yikes! For some reason I thought that moms didn’t sin that much since they have so much else on their mind. It seemed temptation wouldn’t be the same as it was in my youth. Although my sinfulness hasn’t changed (just ask my husband!) the kinds of sins are different. And that’s when temptation comes the easiest – when we aren’t paying attention and when we least expect it. I find that in motherhood my biggest trial is making excuses, sadly usually using my kids as my excuse. My kids made me crazy, that’s why I did such and such. I have no time to pray because I’m taking care of the kids. I can’t go to confession because I have kids…

Last night I was in such a bad mood as I tried to catch a fly in our bathroom. Those *&$# things really are making me crazy and I was letting my husband know it. As he watched me, he said, “Why don’t you offer it up?” And truthfully, it hasn’t crossed my mind to allow this opportunity to make me holy.  But I guess it did teach me a lesson about sin. We always have to be on our guard against sin and temptation in any form. Until heaven, we will never be safe. And now if you’ll excuse me, I just found another fly to go hunt down and destroy.

“Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. Amen.”

One thought on “Fruit flies…and sin

  1. Hey friend! I just realized that I missed a bunch of your posts and just went and read all of them. I love them and your wisdom and your honesty. Thank you for writing!!!

Leave a Reply

