The Center Aisle: How God Provides

After my last post on worrying, I’ve been reflecting on the ways that God has provided for me.  And the best way of all is that I live in Denver with my wonderful husband and two kids (soon to be three!).

You see, my senior year in college I had led several mission trips to Belize and felt God was calling me to be a missionary there. I was learning a lot about trust and discernment at the time and said, “Ok, I’ll give this my all.” But halfway through the summer after graduation, things weren’t coming together and it seemed being a missionary in Belize wasn’t what God wanted for me after all. At first, I felt abandoned. “God, you told me to do this and now where are you?”

But towards the end of the summer I landed a few job interviews, and by many miraculous interventions this east coast gal interviewed for a youth ministry position in Denver and moved across the country two weeks later to start.

Only as I looked back could I see that all along God had a plan. By holding out for the missionary work, I was able to travel all summer, and then be available when the position opened up in Denver. So I live in Denver now.

My first year in youth ministry, there was one night a week when it was my turn to lock up the church at night after youth group.  As I finished checking to make sure all the doors were locked in the dark church, I would walk up the long center aisle, genuflect at the tabernacle, and leave for the night. Many nights as I walked up the aisle from the back of the church to leave, I would imagine myself walking up that same center aisle, only with the lights on, guests present, and my future husband standing at the altar. Only I didn’t know what he looked like. Because I wasn’t dating anyone at the time, hadn’t dated much, and really didn’t know if I ever would.

Three years later on a hot yet glorious Saturday in July of 2010, with all our friends and family present, I did walk down that center aisle to my husband. My husband, who I had met at that church while working as a youth minister.

The following June, we again walked down that same center aisle for the Mass where we celebrated the baptism of our firstborn son. This summer we’ll celebrate the baptism of our third in that same Church.

God is good, and there’s no doubt He’s led me to where I am today.  He knows our hearts, he knows our desires, and he has a plan.  I still struggle with worry, but hopefully as I continue to reflect on all the good He’s done, I will trust is what He has yet to do!

“Trust in the Lord and do good that you may dwell in the land and live secure. Find your delight in the Lord who will give you your hearts desire.” Psalm 37:3-4

wedd_475

2 thoughts on “The Center Aisle: How God Provides

  1. Today I watched the Veggie Tales episode called “It’s a Meaningful Life” with Nathaniel (because that’s about as deep as it gets most days) and consequently had this exact thought…God has wonderful things planned for us! I look back on my past when things were not clear, and see His Wisdom sending me to where I ended up–and here I am with so many blessings!

  2. As much as I make no bones about my contention and discord for religion and the too common personified understanding of God, with those who live as good, positive people and attribute this way of life to the lessons of their faith, I will not argue or debate religions or my opinions of them. Better said, I won’t initiate debate. Allison, from what I know of you, you are one of these good people. From what I’ve read in this post alone, you worked hard and earned what you have. Is no credit due to hard work, intelligence and a keen awareness? I’m glad to hear you’re doing so well. It makes me happy. It also makes me happy to know that you’ve held onto your faith loyally all these years. For me, extensive studies of the history and origin of world religions has left me more….celestially well say, aware, and I choose nature and spirituality as my guide. Its more tangible and it works better with my opinion of god (whatever your understanding of it is) and spirituality needing to be seperated from religion before they can be truly appreciated. Rant over, sorry. I’m glad to hear you’re doing well and wish you congratulations and good luck with the newest member of your family.

Leave a Reply

