My home: the good, the bad, and the beautiful

Recently this post on Momastery called “Give me Gratitude or Give Me Debt” was floating around. After several people had shared it, I decided to read it.  On the one hand, I’m glad I did.  After recently buying a house, I was looking with a critical eye at every crack and piece of dirt, lamenting about what poor shape our new purchase is in.  I still believe parts of it, in its current shape, are a potential health hazard. But I have a house. Not a condo or an apartment, but a house. It has running water, a gas stove, and a huge fridge. It has 4 bedrooms and multiple living areas. It has a deck and a yard for the kids to run around and a shop in the back so my husband can still work yet be close to his family.  When I look at what I can be grateful for, my house is amazing.

So on the one hand I see the importance of needing to be grateful for what I have. But on the other hand, I find nothing wrong with wanting to update your house and make it a place of beauty. My husband remodels homes for a living and he is the best at it. Yet for him it’s more than a job; it’s a work of art. My husband is truly an artist and people’s houses are his canvas. He makes homes beautiful, and beauty is a reflection of God. Whether you have resources to hire someone,  or to put a little DIY effort into it yourself, you are making your house into a home and a place where you want to raise your family.

Paris_Notre-Dame_shutterstock_109656845

Notre Dame Cathedral, Paris

Because I am a stay at home mother, 90% of my life is spent in my house. The whole point of starting this blog was to find holiness at home in my vocation as a mother. And since the family is the “domestic church,” then our family is raised in our domestic church building of a home. Many riches and some of the greatest talent on the earth has been spent building the most beautiful cathedrals to raise our eyes to heaven. To point us to God and cause us to pause and reflect on the good, true, and beautiful.  So my house is like the cathedral that my domestic church is being raised in. And I should be able to wake up and spend my day with my thoughts pointing to the good, the true, and the beautiful. If my home is a place that I’m proud of, a place of beauty that I can fulfill my vocation in, then I see nothing wrong with a little updating.

Granted, fashions and fads change. Things become outdated. Possessions fade away. And the most important thing is to be grateful for what we do have and to not be envious of the things others have that we don’t.  But that doesn’t mean we can’t be inspired by Houzz or Pinterest and put a little work into making our house beautiful and something we can feel proud of.  Something that can lift our eyes and our spirits to the heavens.

But of course, if you love the 70’s look in your kitchen, roll with it! You never know when laminate and linoleum will make a comeback:-)

final kitchen_Fotor_Collage_Fotor

Leave a Reply

